| |

Local News Releases

Southwest District Office: (417) 895-7600

August 07, 2017 07:53 AM
Two Missouri Route 96 Bridges in Lawrence County
CLOSED for Replacement Beginning Week of August 14

Lawrence County – Missouri Route 96 in Lawrence County north of Mt. Vernon will be CLOSED starting the week of August 14 when two bridges are replaced, the Missouri Department of Transportation said.

The bridges are just east of Route UU over Dry Fork Creek and just west of Route 39 over Stahl Creek.

Contractor crews will replace the old bridges with new wider structures.

To get around the work zones, drivers can use a signed detour using Route 96, I-44, Route H and Route 39.

Drivers can get to entrances on either side of the bridges.  However, they will not be able to cross the bridges during construction.

Signs and message boards will alert drivers to the bridge closings.

A third bridge, on Route 97 over Center Creek, about three miles south of I-44, is also part of this contract. It will be replaced in 2018.

Weather and/or construction delays could alter the work schedule.

Project background:

  • Prime Contractor: Hartman & Company Inc., Springfield
  • Completion Date: November 1, 2018 (however, the two Route 96 bridges will be completed this fall)
  • Total project cost: $3.66 million




(For more information, call MoDOT in Springfield at 417-895-7600 or visit www.modot.org/southwest)

(Follow MoDOT's Southwest District: Facebook | Twitter | Instagram |YouTube)




District Map
Southwest District
Traveler Information
Traveler Map
Ozarks Traffic
call, cell, mobile, phone iconText Alerts - Sign Up!
Quick Links
Report a Road Concern
Media Inquiries
Your Local Area Engineer
Your Local MoDOT
Get your local district information.
Districts Map
Northwest Northeast Kansas City Central St. Louis Southwest Southeast
About Us
How Do I...
Contact Us
Missouri Department of Transportation
Central Office
105 W. Capitol Avenue
Jefferson City, MO 65102
1-888-ASK-MODOT (275-6636)
1-866-831-6277 (Motor Carrier Services)
Drivers License Offices
| | |
Missouri State Government
© 2013 Missouri Department of Transportation. All Rights Reserved.   Privacy Policy.
Bates Vernon Barton Jasper Newton McDonald Barry Stone Taney Lawrence Dade Cedar St. Clair Henry Christian Greene Polk Hickory Benton Dallas Webster Northwest Northeast Kansas City Central St. Louis Southwest Southeast iTunes Android Facebook Twitter Flickr Instagram Blog YouTube RSS Facebook Twitter Flickr Google+ Blogspot YouTube RSS Feed