| |

Local News Releases

Southwest District Office 417.895.7600

April 26, 2017 02:41 PM
Project to Upgrade Sidewalks in Sparta
Scheduled to Begin Week of May 8

Christian County – A project to upgrade existing sidewalks along sections of Route 14 and sections of Route PP in Sparta is scheduled to begin the week of May 8, the Missouri Department of Transportation said. 

During the work, drivers will not experience any impacts to traffic along Route 14 or Route PP.  However, parking areas along the two state routes may be closed to accommodate equipment and workers as they work on sidewalks and the sidewalk ramps.  

It also is possible that entrances may be narrowed at times.  

Contractor crews will contact businesses and homeowners when the work approaches their establishments/driveways. 

The project will upgrade sidewalks along Route 14 between Vanilla Bean Road and Route PP (Bull Creek Avenue) and along Route PP (Bull Creek Avenue) between Cherry Street and Route 14 in Sparta.  

Under federal law, MoDOT is required to make sidewalks compliant with Americans with Disability Act requirements. 

The project completion date is Nov. 1, 2017.  However, the contractor expects to complete the project by mid-summer. 

The prime contractor is Hunter-Chase & Associates, Springfield.  

The estimated total project cost is $152,843.

Follow MoDOT's Southwest District:

  • Facebook: MoDOT.Southwest
  • Twitter: MoDOT_Southwest
  • Instagram: @MoDOT_Southwest




District Map
Southwest District
Traveler Information
Traveler Map
Ozarks Traffic
call, cell, mobile, phone iconText Alerts - Sign Up!
Quick Links
Report a Road Concern
Media Inquiries
Your Local Area Engineer
Your Local MoDOT
Get your local district information.
Districts Map
Northwest Northeast Kansas City Central St. Louis Southwest Southeast
About Us
How Do I...
Contact Us
Missouri Department of Transportation
Central Office
105 W. Capitol Avenue
Jefferson City, MO 65102
1-888-ASK-MODOT (275-6636)
1-866-831-6277 (Motor Carrier Services)
Drivers License Offices
| | |
Missouri State Government
© 2013 Missouri Department of Transportation. All Rights Reserved.   Privacy Policy.
Bates Vernon Barton Jasper Newton McDonald Barry Stone Taney Lawrence Dade Cedar St. Clair Henry Christian Greene Polk Hickory Benton Dallas Webster Northwest Northeast Kansas City Central St. Louis Southwest Southeast iTunes Android Facebook Twitter Flickr Instagram Blog YouTube RSS Facebook Twitter Flickr Google+ Blogspot YouTube RSS Feed