| |

Local News Releases

Southwest District Office: (417) 895-7600

July 08, 2014 02:36 PM
Media Advisory: Commission to Approve
Amendment 7 Transportation Priorities List

JEFFERSON CITY - When Missourians head to the polls on Aug. 5, they will know exactly what their tax dollars will bring to the state if they approve Constitutional Amendment 7. That's because the Missouri Highways and Transportation Commission will approve on July 9 a list of hundreds of transportation projects that represents the commission's commitment to Missourians who want to invest in the state's transportation future.

After years of hard work and collaboration with local transportation planners, the finalized list also culminates the end of the public comment period that began June 13 and included almost 1,200 public comments and over 40 meetings in every region of the state. It represents a substantial investment in Missouri's transportation infrastructure - but also means safer roads, more jobs, and a better economy.

Amendment 7 is a ballot measure to temporarily raise Missouri's sales tax by ¾ of a cent. All proceeds from the 10-year tax would go toward much-needed transportation improvements across the state. The amendment's provisions included the creation of a project list prior to the election.

WHAT:      Amendment 7 Transportation Priorities List Press Opportunity


WHEN:      Wednesday, July 9, 1:00 - 3:00 pm


WHERE:   Springfield District Office - 3025 East Kearney, 65803

                  Joplin Regional Office - 2915 South Doughboy Drive, 64804


WHO:       Springfield - Becky Baltz, District Engineer

                  Joplin - Dan Salisbury, Assistant District Engineer


CONTACT:  Jennifer Williams, Customer Relations Manager

                     (417) 895-7713


District Map
Southwest District
Traveler Information
Traveler Map
Ozarks Traffic
call, cell, mobile, phone iconText Alerts - Sign Up!
Quick Links
Report a Road Concern
Media Inquiries
Your Local Area Engineer
Your Local MoDOT
Get your local district information.
Districts Map
Northwest Northeast Kansas City Central St. Louis Southwest Southeast
About Us
How Do I...
Contact Us
Missouri Department of Transportation
Central Office
105 W. Capitol Avenue
Jefferson City, MO 65102
1-888-ASK-MODOT (275-6636)
1-866-831-6277 (Motor Carrier Services)
Drivers License Offices
| | |
Missouri State Government
© 2013 Missouri Department of Transportation. All Rights Reserved.   Privacy Policy.
Bates Vernon Barton Jasper Newton McDonald Barry Stone Taney Lawrence Dade Cedar St. Clair Henry Christian Greene Polk Hickory Benton Dallas Webster Northwest Northeast Kansas City Central St. Louis Southwest Southeast iTunes Android Facebook Twitter Flickr Instagram Blog YouTube RSS Facebook Twitter Flickr Google+ Blogspot YouTube RSS Feed