| |
Missouri Department of Transportation

Social Media Facebook Twitter Flickr Instagram YouTube RSS

MoDOT News Release  

February 13, 2014 08:53 AM
New Chair, Vice Chair for Highways and Transportation Commission

JEFFERSON CITY - The Missouri Highways and Transportation Commission's leadership positions will change March 1. Stephen Miller, Kansas City, will serve as the commission's chair for the next year, while Joe Carmichael, Springfield, will assume the position of vice-chair. Miller had been serving as vice-chair and Carmichael as chair. The commission voted to switch the roles, as is their common practice, at its monthly meeting in Jefferson City on Feb. 11.

Miller was appointed to the commission in August 2009. Carmichael has served on the commission since April 2009.

"I'd like to thank Joe for the leadership he's provided this past year," Miller said. "He provided direction as three new members joined the commission and guided us through the difficult decision to not add new projects to the Statewide Transportation Improvement Program and to suspend the Cost-Share Program."

"Steve and Joe have a keen understanding of the stark reality we face," MoDOT Director Dave Nichols said. "I look forward to working with them as we tackle some big challenges, most notably how we are going to fund transportation at the state and federal levels for the long term."

Miller is a partner in the Kansas City law firm Miller Schirger, LLC and focuses much of his practice on the construction industry. Carmichael is president and managing partner of the Springfield law firm Carmichael & Neal, P.C.

The six-member bipartisan commission governs the Missouri Department of Transportation, the agency responsible for building, operating and maintaining the state highway system and supporting other transportation modes in Missouri.

Other commission members are Kenneth Suelthaus, St. Louis and Gregg Smith, Clinton. There are two vacancies yet to be filled.

Links to related information:
About Us
How Do I...
Contact Us
Missouri Department of Transportation
Central Office
105 W. Capitol Avenue
Jefferson City, MO 65102
1-888-ASK-MODOT (275-6636)
1-866-831-6277 (Motor Carrier Services)
Driver's License Offices
| | |
Missouri State Government
© 2013 Missouri Department of Transportation. All Rights Reserved.   Privacy Policy.
RSS FeedYoutubeBlogFlickrTwitter Facebook