| |
Missouri Department of Transportation

Social Media Facebook Twitter Flickr Instagram YouTube RSS

MoDOT News Release 

For more information contact Carrie Wolken at 573-751-5420 or 1-800-800-BELT (2358) or Revee White at 573-751-5414

March 02, 2010 12:00 AM
Governorís Office Honors Team Spirit Youth

JEFFERSON CITY - Gov. Jay Nixon's office recognized youth leadership teams from around the state for their contributions to promoting safe driving habits among youth in their communities March 2 at the Capital Plaza Hotel.

A special proclamation was awarded to 11 Missouri high schools. Barb Shimmens, director of constituent services for Gov. Nixon, presented the proclamation. The youth teams were in Jefferson City March 1-2 for a Team Spirit Reunion. The two-day reunion included workshops and presentations about traffic safety.

Team Spirit is a statewide program sponsored by the Missouri Department of Transportation's Highway Safety Division that is committed to empowering youth to take an active role in preventing alcohol and other drug use and the impaired driving that accompanies such use.

After an initial training session, Team Spirit youth create and implement action plans addressing underage drinking, drinking and driving, driver inattention, and promoting safety belt use through events and activities to be implemented within their schools and communities. The two-day reunion provides the teams the opportunity to share ideas with other teams and gain additional knowledge.

"One in four Missouri traffic crashes involves drivers under the age of 21," said Leanna Depue, director of Highway Safety. "Team Spirit gives students the skills to impact their peers in a very positive way."

Team Spirit is available to all schools in Missouri. For more information about how your school can become involved in this program call 1-800-800-BELT (2358).


EDITOR'S NOTE - The following high schools will receive a proclamation at the ceremony on March 2:  Farmington High School, Blair Oaks High School, Naylor High School, Marion County R-II High School, Lutie High School, Camdenton High School, Fatima High School, New Madrid High School, Iberia High School, Sarcoxie High School and St. Elizabeth High School.

About Us
How Do I...
Contact Us
Missouri Department of Transportation
Central Office
105 W. Capitol Avenue
Jefferson City, MO 65102
1-888-ASK-MODOT (275-6636)
1-866-831-6277 (Motor Carrier Services)
Driver's License Offices
| | |
Missouri State Government
© 2013 Missouri Department of Transportation. All Rights Reserved.   Privacy Policy.
RSS FeedYoutubeBlogFlickrTwitter Facebook